My middle Mosel

The Moselle rises in the Vosges, flows through France and Luxembourg until it flows into the Rhine in Germany at the Deutsches Eck in Koblenz.
It is divided into upper, middle and lower Mosel, each with its own individual character in each section. Geographically, the Middle Moselle is defined from Schweich to Zell. Ürzig and Zeltingen are thus in the heart of the Middle Moselle.
The river between Bernkastel-Kues and Traben-Trarbach forms a mitten. Marked by the many meanders, the Moselle has found a particularly attractive path through the Rhenish Slate Mountains here. The flora and fauna offers the attentive observer many highlights. The rocks are popular breeding grounds for eagle owl, red kite and peregrine falcon, you will find the rare Apollofalter and along the cycling and hiking trails (eg Erdener Klettersteig and the Moselle-Maare-Radwanderweg), wild orchids provide stimulating splashes of color.

However, the truly special of the Middle Mosel is certainly in the expression of the rocks and steep slopes. Sometimes rugged, sometimes softer, these can have up to 65% gradient.
In this hillside grow grapes of special quality and that was already known by the ancient Romans, who founded the winegrowing on the Mosel. Therefore, the Moselle is considered the oldest wine growing region in Germany. Relics from this period can be found along the Mosel z. As in earth an old Roman wine press, which was discovered in the context of land consolidation.

For centuries the Riesling grape was the trademark of the Mosel, but in recent years the spectrum has expanded considerably. Due in part to climate change, a large variety of white and red grape varieties are grown today.

With heart and passion, the winemakers face the challenge and not only in the vintage. Almost entirely by hand, many winemakers still produce their own wines, so each wine has its own individual touch. The Moselaner is an open-minded, friendly and sociable person.

Get your own picture of the Middle Mosel, the landscape, the wine and the people.

Christiana Comes-Limbach

About the Author

Christiana Comes-Limbach

As the commercial manager of the metalworker Limbach Maschinen located in Mayen, the three-time mother has little time left for herself. She finds the native Mosel woman in her homeland. With their very personal holiday homes offers people recreation, rest and relaxation in the Middle Moselle.

Follow Christiana Comes-Limbach:

en_GBEnglish
de_DEGerman en_GBEnglish

Meine Mittelmosel

Die Mosel entspringt in den Vogesen, fließt durch Frankreich und Luxemburg bis sie dann in Deutschland am Deutschen Eck in Koblenz in den Rhein mündet.
Sie unterteilt sich in Ober-, Mittel- und Untermosel, mit jeweils ganz individuellem Charakter in den einzelnen Abschnitten. Geographisch wird die Mittelmosel von Schweich bis Zell definiert. Ürzig und Zeltingen liegen somit im Herzen der Mittelmosel.
Der Flußlauf zwischen Bernkastel-Kues und Traben-Trarbach bildet einen Fausthandschuh. Geprägt durch die vielen Mäander hat die Mosel hier einen besonders reizvollen Weg durch das Rheinische Schiefergebirge gefunden. Auch die Flora und Fauna bietet dem aufmerksamen Beobachter viele Highlights. Die Felsen sind beliebte Brutstätten für Uhu, Rotmilan und Wanderfalke, man findet den seltenen Apollofalter und entlang der Rad- und Wanderwege (z. B. Erdener Klettersteig und den Mosel-Maare-Radwanderweg), bilden Wildorchideen anregende Farbtupfer.

Das wahrhaft Besondere der Mittelmosel liegt jedoch sicherlich in der Ausprägung der Felsen und Steilhänge. Mal schroffer, mal weicher, können diese durchaus bis zu 65% Gefälle aufweisen.
In dieser Hanglage wachsen Trauben besonderer Güteklasse und das wussten auch schon die alten Römer, die den Weinbau an der Mosel begründeten. Deshalb gilt die Mosel als das älteste Weinanbaugebiet Deutschlands. Relikte aus dieser Zeit finden Sie entlang der Mosel z. B. in Erden eine alte römische Kelteranlage, die im Rahmen der Flurbereinigung entdeckt wurde.

War über Jahrhunderte die Rieslingtraube das Markenzeichen der Mosel, hat sich in den letzten Jahren das Spektrum doch sehr erweitert. Bedingt, unter anderem durch den Klimawandel werden heute eine große Vielfalt an weißen und roten Rebsorten angebaut.

Mit Herz und Leidenschaft stellen die Winzer sich der Herausforderung und das nicht nur in der Weinlese. Fast ausschließlich in Handarbeit produzieren hier noch etliche Winzer ihre Weine selbst und so hat jeder Wein seine individuelle Note. Der Moselaner ist ein aufgeschlossener, freundlicher und geselliger Mensch.

Machen Sie sich Ihr eigenes Bild von der Mittelmosel, der Landschaft, dem Wein und den Menschen.

Christiana Comes-Limbach

About the Author

Christiana Comes-Limbach

Als kaufmännische Leiterin des Metallbauers Limbach Maschinen mit Sitz in Mayen bleibt der dreifachen Mutter nur wenig Zeit für sich. Die findet die gebürtige Moselanerin in ihrer Heimat. Mit ihren ganz persönlichen Ferienhäusern bietet Sie Menschen Erholung, Ruhe und Entspannung an der Mittelmosel.

Follow Christiana Comes-Limbach: